Posted by: ahurricane08 | March 2, 2009

SNOW DAY! (and other stuff)

I haven’t updated in quite a while but I’m going to start from today and work backward. Today was one of the best days I’ve had in the city so far. It was a SNOW DAY! The first in 5 years they say. I spent the day sleeping in and then I went sledding in the park with some of my other teaching friends. I’ve never been sledding before but it was a blast. I came home soaking wet but enjoyed every minute of it after the long weekend I had grading. 

Last week was one of the longest weeks I’ve had teaching so far. The first week back from the break left me with tests and papers to grade as well as papers to fill out. I did get some good news though – I get to teach AP Environmental Science next year! 

During mid-winter break I went to Miami for a few days. It was a great break from the cold and NYC. I spent tons of time outside. It was great to relax for several days and (try) not to think about work. I didn’t do any work for a whole week!

Overall I feel like I’ve already become a better teacher since the year began. I’m getting better at keeping track of what is going on in my classroom and asking the right questions that lead to students’ learning. I feel like I’m making some quality bonds with a lot of my students as well. I’m handling the workload better and better. Since the new year I’ve been making a point of cooking more and that of course means I’m eating better. I’ve been getting more sleep as well. I definitely feel  like I’m getting the hang of this. 

I may not love this city and my job but I am making strides daily. Days like today help with enjoying this city and every once in a while something good happens at school that makes me feel the same way about school. Maybe I can make it longer than I thought.

Leave a Reply

Categories

